‘Mr. Sunshine’ wins drama of the year at 2018 APAN Star Awards


Mr. Sunshine emerged as the biggest winner during the 2018 APAN Star Awards as the series bagged the two highest awards of the said ceremony—the Drama of the Year award and the Grand Prize for its lead actor Lee Byung-hun.

The said awards ceremony took place on October 13 at the Kyunghee University Grand Peace Palace. The nominees for this year’s ceremony were chosen from Korean dramas that aired from October 2017 to September 2018.

Organized by the Korea Entertainment Management Association since 2012 as part of the Daejeon Drama Festival, the APAN Stars Awards is an annual awards ceremony that honors achievement in the South Korean drama industry. Its 6th ceremony on Saturday awarded the highest prize to Lee Byung-hun for his performance in the period drama Mr. Sunshine. Two other actresses from the same series also won awards—Kim Tae-ri took home the Best New Actress award while Kim Min-jung won the Best Supporting Actress award.

The complete list of winners is shown below.

  • Daesang (Grand Prize): Lee Byung-hun (Mr. Sunshine)
  • Drama of the Year: Mr. Sunshine
  • Top Excellence Award, Actor in a Miniseries: Park Seo-joon (What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim)
  • Top Excellence Award, Actress in a Miniseries: IU (My Ajusshi)
  • Top Excellence Award, Actor in a Serial Drama: Lee Sang-woo (Marry Me Now)
  • Top Excellence Award, Actress in a Serial Drama: Shin Hye-sun (My Golden Life)
  • Excellence Award, Actor in a Miniseries: Jung Hae-in (Something In The Rain)
  • Excellence Award, Actress in a Miniseries: Go Ah-sung (Life on Mars)
  • Excellence Award, Actor in a Serial Drama: Jang Seung-jo (Money Flower)
  • Excellence Award, Actress in a Serial Drama: Jo Bo-ah (Goodbye to Goodbye)
  • Best New Actor: Yang Se-jong (Temperature of Love), Jang Ki-yong (My Ajusshi)
  • Best New Actress: Won Jin-ah (Just Between Lovers), Kim Tae-ri (Mr. Sunshine)
  • Best Supporting Actor: Park Ho-san (Prison Playbook), Yoo Jae-myung (Life)
  • Best Supporting Actress: Kim Min-jung (Mr. Sunshine), Jang So-yeon (Something In The Rain)
  • K-Star Award (Most Popular): Jung Hae-in (Something In The Rain), Park Min-young (What’s Wrong with Secretary Kim)
  • Best Writer: Lee Soo-yeon (Life)
  • Best Manager: Bae Sung (HM Entertainment)
  • Global Star Award: Park Hae-jin

: 1